Parrot Foundation is a US (Washington State) non-profit foundation, incorporated to:

  • Protect the intellectual property for the Parrot virtual machine, tools, libraries, and language implementations, while offering it for use under an open source license.
  • Cultivate an open source community and encourage the growth of an ecosystem of tools, libraries, extensions, applications, and language implementations around Parrot.
  • Support the development of Parrot and other Parrot community activities through events and grants, and provide essential technical, legal, and organizational infrastructure for the project.

Parrot Foundation (shortened as "Parrot" or "ParF") is a membership-based organization. Voting membership is granted based on a recommendation by two existing voting members, to individuals who have made at least two contributions to the project (code or documentation patches, language implementation, etc.), and have submitted a signed contribution agreement.

Sponsor members gain membership by a yearly donation. Different sizes of donation have different benefits, and the top tier of sponsor members have seats on the Advisory Board. Sponsor members are not voting members, though companies who are sponsor members might have employees who are voting members.

The board of directors is elected in an annual meeting of the members. Though the board members each have specialized roles, the work of the board is shared between the whole group of directors. This is similar to how Parrot has multiple release managers, sharing the work load and handing off to each other as needed, so no task ever blocks on one person.

Board of Directors

  • Jerry Gay
  • James Keenan
  • Jonathan Leto
  • Andrew Whitworth

How to become a member

To be eligible for becoming a member of the Parrot Foundation you must:

  • be nominated by two current members, typically you find two current members that have worked with you in the project and are willing to recommend you
  • have made at least two contributions to the project (or a language implementation targeting the project)
  • sign a contributor agreement (also known as CLA)

For more details check the bylaws. To apply for membership please send the foundation an e-mail with the following information:

  • name
  • e-mail
  • the names of the nominating members

Previous Board Members:

  • Allison Randal, 2008-2010
  • Will Coleda, 2008-2010
  • Jeff Horwitz, 2008-2010
  • Shane Warden, 2008-2010
  • Patrick Michaud, 2009-2010